To Weigh or Not to Weigh #UsFatGirls

To weigh or not to weigh? That is the question!

It finally happened. After 7 years, the battery on my digital scale died. The only information it would give me this morning was a big “E”, blinked twice, then turned off.

Ah, the dreaded scale. To weigh or not to weigh, that is the constant debate. There are extreme opinions on this very topic. EVERYONE has an opinion whether we should be tracking what we weigh or not. The idea of weighing is a bad word in some circles.

What I do know is . . .

Every woman knows if she is out of whack when it comes to the scale.

If she is avoiding, if she is obsessing, if she is freaked out. She knows. YOU know, don’t you?

It’s this big struggle and secret none of us talk about! Well, UsFatGirls, are getting real on this subject! It’s way past time to talk about it!!!

Please note, if you have an eating disorder, please follow the instructions of a professional with regard to the scale.

If you are obsessing or avoiding, it’s time to check back in emotionally and face up to where you are about the scale. You know if you are obsessing. You know if you are avoiding. I want to know why? Face it and take good care of yourself. Stop fighting an inanimate object and admit where the fight really is – in you, in your head and heart. Are you feeling like a failure? Are you living by some unreasonable expectations from yourself or others? Why are you fighting? What are you really feeling?

For me, I need a scale and I weigh daily. It’s a healthy gauge for me. Without it I don’t know where I am. I wake up and think, “Oh no, I’m so fat today!” or “Oh no, did I lose too much too fast?” “Am I ok?” I don’t know. My emotions and feelings deceive me.

The scale is something tangible and non-biased that sets me straight. It shows me an exact number so I’m not guessing. And each time I weigh I realize how out of whack my feelings are. The scale helps me say, “even though I’m feeling fat I’m the exact same weight as yesterday when I felt skinny, silly”. My feelings are balanced by the reality of what I’m really weighing.

For some weighing every day is very unhealthy. It creates worry, pressure, or unrealistic expectations. Some people have been set free from looking at a scale. I say, “more power to you!”

Find what is healthy for you.

I have a friend who has 2 scales. If she loses a pound or gains a pound, she doesn’t believe it – until the second scale tells her the same thing. She doesn’t trust the first set of results and needs that second set for reassurance. For anyone else, two scales could be an emotional mess.

If you stopped weighing yourself years ago as your weight got out of control, it might be helpful to find out what you really weigh now. It’s time for a reality check. Are you avoiding this number?

What is healthy for you? Why?

Are you obsessing with a number?

Are you avoiding the number?

Are you out of whack? Why? What are the emotions driving your argument with the scale?

