Don’t Be Afraid to Dream! #UsFatGirls

This photo captured a BIG day for me! This is proof of the day I was certified as a Zumba instructor. This piece of paper was the culmination of a big wish, an answered prayer, and an impossible goal being fulfilled.

Getting Zumba certified started for me 3 years prior. I started taking Zumba when I was still fat. I know all of us hate the word fat, but fat for me is/was a mindset, not a dress size and I was down and out – so ‘fat’ is the word I use to describe what was going on inside and showing on the outside.

Anyway, I visited a Zumba class with a friend and I completely LOVED it. I loved everything about it; the people, the fun, the dances, the music, the encouragement, the environment, the support, the people. I thought, “I want to do this. I can do this, but I’m fat.”

I’ve always danced, but I had let go my heart and soul as a dancer as I stopped caring about my body. Becoming a Zumba instructor stayed a quiet wish in my heart that I didn’t tell anyone for fear they would laugh, or say, “not you!” or agree with me mockingly. I didn’t want any other person to destroy the dream; it was too close to my heart.

At the point the dream took root in my heart, I was only just beginning to move my body again. Maybe, just maybe, if I keep at it I can reach the dream? So I kept dancing and working out. I kept going back to Zumba. I had a goal now.

Fast forward 2 years and 70+ pounds lighter, I told someone. I said it out loud to another human being; to a Zumba instructor. I said, “I want to do that!” And like most Zumba instructors she supported me! She said, “Go for it!” “You should do it!” “How can I help?” She had no idea what her support in that very moment meant to my dreaming, praying, and wishing heart. That day, I wrote the dream down on a piece of paper. It was November. By July I had saved the money, scheduled the class, and got my certification. Me! Former ‘Fat girl’! I did that! Now I get to help other people to see how beautiful they are! Encourage them to shake it and sweat and not give up on themselves!

Do you have a dream? Do you have a goal? Do you have an unspoken heart wish or prayer? Most women do! What is stopping you? Fear? Insecurity? A critical person? I was there too!

If I can do it – so can you!

