The Cookies Are Trying to Win! Somebody Help Me!

Curse you Girls Scout Thin Mints!!!!!!!!!!! How did that box get in my freezer??? I’m off to find the culprit in my house!!!!  I love you, sweet girl scouts, but your cookies are just wrong!

Yep, that was my evening.  And I did find the cookie buyer.  My darling hubby felt mushy for the sweet Girl Scout and bought 2 boxes of thin mints and 1 box of short bread cookies!  And I ate a sleeve of the thin mints.  Ha!

Have you seen this image circulating?  I have no idea if it’s true or real or who made it, but it cracks me up! (pun intended).  If this were true, it would explain so much!

Temptation!

Even the word “temptation” is seductive!

Temptation is anything that drives you off track and away from your committed goal.

Has it happened to you?  Your eyes wandering away from the goal and onto something else?  Even when all intentions are good, but you get sucked away.  What is left in the aftermath?

Have you set a workout goal or a weight loss goal only to be defeated by a poor choice that popped up out of nowhere?  What tempted you to stray?  A person?  A location that gets your nose sniffing yummies and tummy growling?  A misplaced candy bar?

Temptation wouldn’t be so bad if it wasn’t so tempting. LOL!

Things that are gross do not tempt us.  Things that are pungent, ugly, unwelcome, unlovely, or unsavory are all easy to thwart.

But what I’ve noticed about temptation is that we are constantly lured away by things that our heart already has a tendency to wandered toward.  Have you seen this as well?

I’ve also noticed that we are appalled when someone else screws up, yet we fail too – but NOT like THOSE people.  Isn’t it easier to excuse our own wanderings?  It’s so much easier to point and accuse than face our own failings.

If you think you are standing strong, be careful not to fall. The temptations in your life are no different from what others experience. And God is faithful. He will not allow the temptation to be more than you can stand. When you are tempted, he will show you a way out so that you can endure.  (1 Corinthian 10:12-13 NLT)

Don’t lose hope.  We have strength, we have prayer, we have each other, and we have a promise from the Bible that God will always provide a way out of our temptation, if we choose to take it.

When temptation overwhelms – you CAN overcome.

You can even overcome that box of donuts they brought to the office this morning.  J

I can resist those darn mint chocolate sweet cookies that landed in my freezer (most of the time).

You are beautiful and able!

