You’re Not Ready ‘Til You’re Ready! #UsFatGirls

Alan & JennyMy hubby, who is one of the most consistent work out-ers that I know, said today.

“Hmm? I haven’t lost a single pound.”

I asked, “Are you trying to lose weight?”

He said, “No, not really, but I guess I thought with all of my working out there would be some change on the scale.”

I asked if he has done any measurements instead of the scale to track the transformation.  I can totally see the muscle toning and shifting from his months of nightly Tabatas.

He said, “No!  I should’ve”.

Then I razzed him a bit, “IF YOU WERE READING AND PARTICIPATING WITH ALL OF THE AMAZING PEEPS IN UsFatGirls YOU WOULD KNOW!!!” (*wink)

Even though he lives with me (obsessed fitness person),  it doesn’t sink in for anyone personally until it’s needed and ready to be recieved.

are you readyNo one is ever ready to make changes until they are ready.  But when someone is ready, they are ready!

For whatever reason, today he was ready to do something different.

(He is not even overweight, just wants to be able to manage it and know what is going on).

I said what we repeat in UsFatGirls often, “Fitness happens in the gym, weight loss happens in the kitchen.”

“If you will do one thing different, you will be able to see results soon because of how much you already workout.”

The one small change I suggested, knowing his eating, schedule, emotions, and workout routine was = trade white foods for something green.

But even with that food suggestion I explained that the food isn’t going to be the hardest part of my suggestion.  The issue isn’t HOW to change eating, the hard part is if you CAN MAKE the better choice.

His #1 issue is that he really likes pie! Ha!

Making ourselves make the hard choice for change, one choice at a time, is the battle.

. . . . . . We just got back from lunch.

He still had pie. LOL!

But he DID trade chips for a side salad.  He did it!  He traded white for green!  One step at a time.  One decision at a time.  Healthy choices a day ata time!

It’ll take a little bit of time for the pie!  Ha!

(Yes, I received his permission to share our conversation – thx, Honey!).

