You’re Unlike Anyone Else I’ve Ever Met. #UsFatGirls

free“You’re unlike anyone else I’ve ever met.”

I love these words.  They are one of the biggest compliments I ever get.  And my response is always, “I don’t know how to be anyone else but me.”

To be unique and not afraid is a gift.  It’s freeing.  I feel so honored when someone can see “me” and isn’t freaked out by it.  Why did I, or do I, spend so much time trying to be like others or try to keep up with others?   I’m thankful to be free of comparissons.  It took me a long time to be ok with the authentic me that I feel safe enough now to show to others.

I used to hide behind a mask.  I used to perform for acceptance.  All of these exhausting attempts at “normal” hid me.  It put me behind what I thought was a “safe” shell from getting hurt.  But the real me, behind the mask, was hurting and scared and trying to stay safe.  The shell didn’t work.  It only kept me still feeling terrible.

I took a risk.  I accepted me.  I let others see too, and they stayed.  They didn’t freak out or run away.  Whew!  What a relief!  And now I have dreams.  Big ones!  Let the Adventure begin  .  .  .  .  .  .  .  .

 

